Bradley Hocking, Asset Management Systems Lead at Shoal, is amongst Australia’s Most Innovative Engineers 2020, announced today by Engineers Australia. He is one of only 30 engineers in this exclusive listing, which recognises three leading engineers in each of the ten award categories. Brad’s achievement was for developing an innovative approach to ‘infocentric asset management’ that is now delivered to Shoal clients across transport and infrastructure.

Best-practice asset management is challenging and relies heavily on spreadsheets, Microsoft Word documents and individual knowledge, which makes strategic and tactical planning difficult. To synthesize information, and improve asset management and planning, Brad led Shoal’s team in developing an asset management system framework (AMSF). He then partnered with Hydro Tasmania to explore and apply the framework further, which has now resulted in establishing AMSF as a unique product offering for Shoal.

In assessing Brad’s work, the 2020 Judges commented that “The applicant has presented a well-crafted case for their development of an asset management system framework. Asset management is a valuable area of practice, and any tools that improve practice in this area certainly have the potential for benefit to the profession and to the communities that we serve.”

This year’s judges brought a diversity of thought and experience to their role. They included senior engineers and academics: Claude D’Cruz, Director, Metals, Australia-Asia for Hatch; Associate Professor Anne Gardner, Head of the School of Professional Practice and Leadership in the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology at the University of Technology Sydney and Vice-President of the Australasian Association for Engineering Education (AAEE); Alex Kingsbury, Additive Manufacturing Fellow at RMIT University; Professor Euan Lindsay is the Foundation Professor of Engineering at Charles Sturt University; Stephanie Moroz, Innovation at EDL Energy; and Adrian Piani, ACT Chief Engineer.

Congratulations to Brad on achieving this accolade.